Biography

Hasan Baiyev was born on April 4, 1963 in Alkhan-Kala, a suburb of Grozny; he studied in Alkhan-Kala secondary school № 1, after which he entered Krasnoyarsk Medical Institute. In the institute, Hasan specialized in oral and maxillofacial surgery and continued to seriously do sambo and judo, which he started studying at school in 1976. While studying, his student work “Gunshot wounds of head and neck in the time of peace” was published in scientific journal. In the institute Hasan finished internship and residency; in 1988 he returned home and began to work at the First City Hospital, where he became the main specialist of the republic in maxillofacial and plastic surgery.

The first Chechen war has turned Baiyev into a field doctor — the only one for several surrounding towns and villages. Faithful to the Hippocratic oath, Baiyev operates both participants of the military confrontation and locals being the only doctor for 100 000 people and his Niva being the only “Ambulance”. There was no electricity, water, medicines, his only tools were a hacksaw and a hand drill. In such conditions he did 30 operations per day.

It was hard for me not only physically but also mentally. Being a doctor who used to improve the appearance, I was forced to amputate limbs. Previously patients became beautiful with my surgeries, but during the war they became disabled. Sometimes I was walking down the street and it seemed to me that nobody around had whole limbs.

In total, during the first Chechen war he operated on 4600 people. Both belligerents tried to “thank” the doctor: warlord Barayev tried to shoot him for operating the feds, the feds threatened him with death for “communication” with the militants.

The second Chechen war has changed nothing in Baiyev’s life — he still operates, the number of operations increased twice, he is again persecuted by both warring parties, unknown people kill his nephew who often assisted him during operations. Because of the fighting, Hasan Baiyev gets three contusions.

In April 2000, Hasan Baiyev with his family leaves for the United States with the help of foreign charities. His wife and four children are always with him...





My family, probably like any other, was a support without which I would not have survived ... they were a thread that bound my past, present and hope for the future...

Initially, the Baiyevs live in Vermont with their American friends Nick and Ruth Danilov. Hasan has to seriously care of his own health (gastric bleeding, complete loss of memory, insomnia), psychologists work with him and at the same time Baiyev mows lawns and paints houses to somehow feed the family.

Impressions of the recent past experienced in Russia were so hard and demanded so much comprehension that during the same period Baiyev starts (with the invaluable help of Ruth and Nick Danilov) working on a book about tragic events of the two Chechen wars. In 2001, the book “The Oath, or Surgeon Under Fire” was published and translated into 20 languages. In the US, it has become a bestseller, American universities use it as a guide for emergency medicine. In Russia, none of the publishers dared publishing the book.





I’m afraid that in Russia the book will not be published, because my interpretation of the war will not please everyone. There is no praise to the commanders who are considered to be almost heroes. I have not seen such ones, especially since the civil war heroes do not exist. I’m also far from glorification of Ichkeria and especially their leaders, which led to the tragedy. One of the former leaders of Ichkeria, reading a book, called me and told me that I described events so that none of the parties would be satisfied. In fact, this man gave me a compliment. I was not going to justify or idealize someone. Just I wrote what I saw.

On the motives of this book, a solo performance was made. The role of Baiyev was played by actor Ian Barford.

In 2001 Hasan resumed sport training, it was necessary in order to restore the physical shape and for the purpose of psychological rehabilitation; for the period up to 2007 inclusive, he won six titles at USSA/FIAS West World Open and ASA Battle.

Since 2007 Baiyev begins to visit Russia, he organizes the “Save the Children of Chechnya” fund in the US and starts to make free surgeries (in Grozny) for children with congenital abnormalities, for which he brings medical supplies and prostheses. He provides charitable and humanitarian aid — Kamazes with essential goods are not uncommon in the outskirts of Grozny and the surrounding villages.

This charitable activity in a form of addressed aid was provided to the children of Vietnam, Colombia and other countries in Asia, Africa and South America.

At the same time, he begins to travel around the world and to lecture at the most prestigious universities in Europe, USA, Canada and Japan (totally 78 universities!). Practical activities in this period are not only consultations and operations, but also training in the best clinics of the world, such as Vanderbilt university medical center (Nachille, Tennessee), Harvard Book Store (Boston), Brooklyn public library (New York), Harvard University (Boston), Washington Hospital Center (Washington), Stanford University (Stanford), Northeastern University (Boston), Library of Congress (Washington), Cardiff University (London), Florida Atlantic University, University of St. Francis Chicago (Illinois), John Hopkins University (Washington), Duke University (North Carolina), Tufts University School of medicine (Boston), Georgia State University (Atlanta), Autonomic University of Madrid, University of medicine Barcelona, Sciece Academy and medicine Bilbao, Medical association (Bilbao), Saitama Medical University, Columbia University

International activity of Hasan Baiyev was praised in 2005 when he received his (the only Russian by today) International Award “Physician of the world”, he became the man of the year in the US, UK and Japan, and American filmmakers shot a documentary film “Withness-Lost children of Chechnya”.

In 2014 Hasan Baiyev was awarded with the Honorary Diploma of the Chechen Republic Parliament “For contribution to the development of plastic surgery, high professionalism and humanism in the provision of medical care”.

Currently, the doctor travels a lot around the world, operates, lectures and of course is engaged in medical practice preferring to operate in Grozny.

... I’m used to my staff, my operating room... my main job is here... Who needs it — welcome to Grozny.





© 2017

Биография

Хасан Баиев родился 4 апреля 1963 года в пригороде Грозного Алхан-Кала, учился в Алхан-Калинской средней школе № 1, по окончании которой поступил в Красноярский медицинский институт. В институте Хасан специализируется на челюстно-лицевой хирургии и продолжает серьезно заниматься борьбой самбо и дзюдо, начало занятиями которыми положено еще в школе, в 1976 году. Во время учебы его студенческая работа «Огнестрельные ранения головы и шеи в мирное время» попадает в научный сборник. В институте Хасан закончил интернатуру и ординатуру, а в 1988 году, вернулся домой и стал работать в Первой городской больнице, где стал главным специалистом республики в области челюстно-лицевой и пластической хирургии.

Первая чеченская война превратила Баиева в полевого доктора — единственного на несколько окрестных поселков и сел. Верный клятве Гиппократа Баиев оперирует и участников военного противостояния и местных жителей, он единственный врач на 100 000 человек, а его Нива- единственная «cкорая помощь». Не было электричества, воды, лекарств, инструменты -ножовка по металлу и ручная дрель. В этих условиях — до 30 операций в день.

«Мне было тяжело не только физически, но и морально. Я, врач, который привык улучшать внешность, вынужден был ампутировать руки-ноги. Раньше после моих операций пациенты уходили красивыми, а во время войны —инвалидами. Иногда я шёл по улице, и мне мерещилось, что вокруг нет ни одного человека с целыми конечностями.»

Всего же за время первой Чеченской было прооперировано 4 600 человек. При этом «отблагодарить» врача пытались обе воюющие стороны, полевой командир Бараев пытался расстрелять за то, что оперировал федералов, федералы грозили смертью за «cвязь» с боевиками.

Вторая чеченская война ничего не изменила в жизни Баиева- он по-прежнему оперирует, количество операций вдвое больше, его опять преследуют обе воюющие стороны, неизвестные убивают его племянника, который часто ассистировал ему во время операций. Из-за боевых действий Хасан Баиев получает три контузии.

В апреле 2000 года с помощью иностранных благотворительных организаций Хасан Баиев вместе с семьей выезжает в США. Жена и четверо детей все время рядом...





«Моя семья, как наверное и любая другая, была той опорой без которой я бы просто не выжил...они были той нитью, которая связывала мое прошлое, настоящее и надежды на будущее... »

Первое время Баиевы живут в штате Вермонт у своих американских друзей Ника и Рут Даниловых. Хасану приходится серьезно заниматься собственным здоровьем, (желудочное кровотечение, полная потеря памяти, бессонница) с ним работают психологи и в тоже время, чтобы хоть как-то обеспечить семью Баиев стрижет газоны и работает маляром.

Впечатления от недавнего прошлого, от пережитого в России были настолько тяжелы и требовали осмысления, что в этот же период Баиев начинает (при неоценимой помощи Рут и Ника Даниловых) работу над книгой о трагических событиях двух чеченских войн. В 2001 году книга «Клятва, или Хирург под огнём» вышла в свет и была переведена на 20 языков. В США она стала бестселлером, в американских университетах ее используют как пособие по экстремальной медицине. При этом в России книгу не взялось напечатать ни одно из издательств.





«Боюсь, что в России книга не выйдет, потому что моя трактовка войны понравится не всем. Здесь нет восхвалений в адрес военачальников, которые считаются чуть ли не героями. Я таких не встречал, тем более что в гражданской войне героев не бывает. Я также далёк от героизации ичкерийцев и тем более их лидеров, которые привели к трагедии. Один из бывших деятелей Ичкерии, прочитав книгу, позвонил мне и сказал, что мне так удалось описать события, что ни одна из сторон не останется довольной. На самом деле этот человек сделал мне комплимент. Я не собирался оправдывать или идеализировать кого-то. Просто написал то, что видел.»

По мотивам этой книги был поставлен моноспектакль. Роль Баиева сыграл актёр Ян Барфорд.

В 2001 году Хасан возобновил занятия спортом, это было необходимо и в целях восстановления физической формы и в целях психологической реабилитации, причем за период до 2007 года включительно, он выиграл 6 титулов на USSA/FIAS West World Open и ASA Battle.

Начиная с 2007 года Баиев начинает регулярно посещать Россию, он организует в США «Фонд помощи детям Чечни» и начинает проводить бесплатные операции (в Грозном) детям с врожденными патологиями, для которых он привозит медикаменты и протезы. Оказывает благотворительную и гуманитарную помощь —груженые продуктами первой небходимости Камазы —не редкость на окраинах Грозного и в близлежащих селах.

Эта же благотворительная деятельность в виде адресной помощи оказывалась детям Вьетнама, Колумбии и других стран Азии, Африки и Южной Америки.

В это же время он начинает ездить по всему миру и читать лекции в самых престижных университетах Европы, США, Канады и Японии (всего в 78 университетах!). Практическвая деятельность в этот период-это не только проведение консультаций и операций, но и стажировки в лучших клиниках мира, таких как ... Международная деятельность Хасана Баиева было оценена в 2005 году вручением ему (единственному на сегодняшний день из россиян) международной премии «Врач мира», он стал человеком года в США, Великобритании и Японии, а американскими кинематографистами был снят документальный фильм «Withness-Lost children of Chechnya».

В 2014 году Хасан Баиев был награжден Почётной грамотой Парламента Чеченской Республики «За большой вклад в развитие пластической хирургии, высокий профессионализм и гуманизм, проявленный при оказании медицинской помощи населению».

В настоящее время врач много ездит по миру, оперирует, читает лекции и конечно занимается практической медициной, предпочитая оперировать в Грозном.

«... я привык к своему персоналу, к своей операционной... тут моя основная работа... Кому надо — добро пожаловать в Грозный.»





© 2017